The 36-year-old had required back-to-back four-setters to make the third round

Was expected to be tested by Sonego who made the fourth round last year.

However, Nadal didn't face a break point until he dropped serve in the eighth game of the third set

His focus possibly affected by a stoppage to close the Centre Court roof.

He quickly broke back and sealed the victory.

A few points after Nadal visited the umpire following an incredible shot by Sonego

Nadal called him to the net after he was broken on serve to make it 4-4 in the third set, though it was unclear why.

The two exchanged words. And then exchanged further words after Nadal served out the match

The two then took the discussion to the locker room.

"First of all. I have to say I was wrong. I should not call him on the net,"

For More Trending Stories